Current Weather

You are here


TODAY’S TICKET: Dardanelle at Booneville

GAME: Booneville (5-0, 2-0) vs Dardanelle (4-1. 1-1)

MASCOTS: Booneville Bearcats; Dardanelle Sand Lizards

WHEN: 7 p.m., Friday, Oct. 11 at Bearcat Stadium

SERIES: Booneville leads 36-14-0

LAST MEETING: Booneville 27 Dardanelle 14 on Oct. 5, 2012

LAST WEEK: Booneville 48 Subiaco 20; Pottsville 21 Dardanelle 18

STREAK: Booneville has won last 5

FIRST MEETING: Dardanelle 57 Booneville 0 in 1921

CONFERENCE AFFILIATIONS: Both are members of 4A-4

NOTABLE: Tonight marks the first time in three years Dardanelle has travelled to Booneville. That’s because when the conference was realigned for the 2012 and 2013 seasons, previous game hosts were not considered and the 2011 and 2012 games were both in Yell County.

Over the last two weeks the Bearcats have said good-bye to Waldron and Subiaco for at least two seasons because of Booneville’s pending move to Class 3A. The move will not affect the Dardanelle series, however, because the Sand Lizards will occupy the middle of the three nonconference dates.

Although the record is lopsided in Booneville’s favor, there have been close, low-scoring games in the series of late, including a 14-6 Bearcat win in 2010, when Booneville kept the ball for the last 5:41 of the game after a Dardanelle field goal; and a a 17-14 win in 2008, which was played in Booneville, and featured a game winning Juan Rios 36-yard field goal with 0:06 to play..

Dardanelle last won in 2007, which was their second straight in the series

Due to the conference realignment, Booneville is making a trip to Yell County for this game for the second straight year, but Mena and Pottsville will both play in Booneville for the second straight year.

The current four game winning streak over Dardanelle began when Juan Rios kicked a 36-yard field goal with 0:06 to go in a 17-14 win in 2008.

Trey Holloway set a school record in 1999 when he intercepted four passes against Dardanelle; Andrew Spring returned a blocked field goal 76 yards for a touchdown against the Sand Lizards in 2005; Brandon Herrera returned a punt 87 yards for a touchdown against Dardanelle in 1993; Bruce Ray returned a kickoff 90 yards for a touchdown against Dardanelle in 1973; Perry Mikles returned an interception 65 yards for a touchdown against Dardanelle in 1963; Tommy Roberts returned a fumble 48 yards for a touchdown against Dardanelle in 1964; Talor Tatterson returned a punt 49 yards for a touchdown against Dardanelle in 2009; Joey Ballin returned a blocked punt 20 yards for a touchdown against Dardanelle in 1993; Marco Rodriguez kicked a 37-yard field goal against Dardanelle in 2010; Davin Hicks scored six touchdowns against Dardanelle in 1997.